Scorpio Yoga

Try Scorpio Yoga for emotional attachment, anger management, spiritual crisis or grief. Promotes connection to spirit and healthy emotional release. Breakthrough, metamorphosis of the soul.

Scorpio rules the genitals, bladder and urinary tract.

Prana vayu : apana  //  Ayurvedic dosha pitta

Meditation svadhisthana (sacral chakra)

From a seated position, lengthen the spine and breathe deeply. Ground through the sits bones to become taller and then relax the gluteal and hip flexor muscles. Visualize sending lovingkindness to the sacral chakra with an ephemeral orange light. Place your hands on the low abdomen, just below the belly button. Scorpio rules areas of the body belonging to the sacral chakra.

Mula bandha

Practice this in conjunction with the muladhara meditation above. Essentially they are one and the same. The mula bandha or root chakra lock is a physio-spiritual membrane connected to the root chakra. We can learn more about its power by gently activating the muscles that stop the flow of urination. For women, these are located behind the cervix, and for men between the testes and anus. Try this at the end of an exhale. Breathe deeply through the nose. Relax your hips and gluteals. You may also engage uddiyana bandha, the muscular hold located at the sacral chakra in the lower abdominals. Keep breathing for 5-10 minutes before returning to your organic breath. I want to emphasize that the chakras and bandhas are highly complex portals that I do not even pretend to have mastery of, as it takes many lifetimes to even become aware of their power. Focus simply on getting to know this sensation in whatever form it comes to you.

    1. baddha konasana (cobbler pose – seated or supta, reclined)
    1. marichyasana (seated twist/forward bend/hip opener – optional strap for bind)
    1. prasarita padottanasana (wide-legged forward bend – reclined or standing)
    1. malasana (squat)
  1. eka pada rajakapotasana (pigeon pose – upright or on back, holding the foot and above the knee, such as a figure 4 variation)

Brahmacharya : Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras contain the yamas and niyamas, or the ethics/observances of yoga. One of the five yamas (moral observances) is known as brahmacharya or “right use of energy.” One traditional component of this is abstinence. We can apply this concept more liberally by choosing our partners carefully and purposefully. Recognize your body as sacred, only to be shared with those who are respectful and aware. This is a practice of both conservation and lovingkindness. Take this concept and make it your own.