Taurus Yoga

For grounding; stability; a feeling of home and comfort. Earth connection, low to the floor.

Taurus rules the neck and throat (including the larynx, vocal chords, tonsils and jugular vein), thyroid, chin, lower jaw, ears and tongue.

Prana vayu apana  //  Ayurvedic dosha kapha

Meditation: chanting / singing / kirtan

If you’re new to chanting, perhaps start with the bija mantras, the sounds of the chakras: LAM, VAM, RAM, YAM, HAM, AUM (OM), AUMMM. (Quick note: despite the “A,” the syllables are pronounced LUM, VUM, RUM, YUM and HUM.) Start at the root chakra with LAM, bringing your attention to that part of your body. You might also engage mula bandha, or the pelvic floor muscles, except during menstruation. Move to the sacral chakra, and so on. At the crown, hold AUM. Do not worry about what you look like or whether or not your chanting is “correct.” It is.

Pranayama: kumbhaka (sustained breath)

Take a seated position. Inhale deeply to fill the body, then exhale slowly. Find a comfortable pace. When you’re ready, inhale to a count. At the top of your inhale, lungs full, hold your breath for the same count. Gently release the breath, exhaling once again for the same count. Inhale and exhale through the nose. After 5-10 minutes, return to your normal breath and observe. Eventually work towards a 20 second inhale, 20 second hold, 20 second exhale – one breath per minute. For the optional mudra, or sacred bodily position, associated with kumbhaka: touch the tip of the ring finger to the tip of the thumb, other fingers extended. Hold both hands up, palms facing forward, elbows bent at 90 degrees and level with the shoulders.


  1. bhujangasana (cobra pose)
  2. mayurasana (peacock pose)
  3. salabhasana (locust pose)
  4. dhanurasana (bow pose)
  5. turning of the neck in safe directions. Look up “positional release therapy” for the neck :)

Asteya and aparigraha: The third and fifth yamas (Patanjali’s moral/ethical guidelines as outlined in the Yoga Sutras) are asteya, or non-stealing, and aparigraha, translated literally as non-possessiveness, non-grasping or non-greediness. These two yogic concepts fall under the umbrella of Taurus Yoga because the bull often struggles to release her attachment to material comforts and luxuries. She is a master coveter. I like to say that the karmic purpose behind Taurus is to live off the fruit of inner abundance. You may reflect on these as a means of Taurus meditation, or simply hold them in mind as you move through Taurus yoga poses.

Protect the throat chakra: The throat chakra is a portal of communication, the body’s link between thoughts and speech. This chakra becomes easily depleted without proper care. One option is to wear a blue scarf. Alternatively, place your fingers gently over your lips or throat if you are in a situation where you have to listen to something unpleasant. This may be done in conversation or when traveling through a crowded space, for example. You may also enjoy covering your ears with a hat or headband or bandana.Visualize turquoise light enveloping the throat. Experiment and find something that works for you.